My Quest Just Got a Little Tougher

The Travelers Century Club recently voted to change their country list around a little bit making the new total 317 countries, territories, enclaves, geographically separated landmasses and island groups. They do this from time to time as countries around the world change based on several factors like politics, wars and new independent countries. I have updated the country list on my site to reflect their changes.

At its June Board Meeting, the following changes were made in the Travelers Century Club list of approved countries: In the Caribbean, Bonaire, Curacao and St. Maarten were added, and St. Maarten was deleted under Leeward Islands, Netherlands. The Netherlands Antilles was deleted. This changes the Caribbean total from 27 to 29.

Under the Pacific Ocean, Johnston Island was deleted because there is no population. Total is now 39. Under Antarctica, all references to the South Pole were deleted. Cabinda was added to the Africa listing, making the total now 53. The total number of approved countries on the TCC list is now 317.

Sharing is caring!


  1. Where the heck is Cabinda?

  2. Cabinda is an exclave and province of Angola, a status that has been disputed by many political organizations in the territory. Cabinda is separated from Angola by the Democratic Republic of the Congo, which bounds the province on the south and the east. Cabinda is bounded on the north by the Republic of the Congo, and on the west by the Atlantic Ocean.

Speak Your Mind